18.05.2017

Patent

A patent protects new technical inventions. A patent owner is granted the privilege to exclusively dispose of his invention within a limited region and for a fixed period of time. He can interdict any unauthorized commercial use of the patent, and he can economically profit from an invention.

In return, there are certain legal obligations on part of a patent owner. With the filing of a patent application a patent owner agrees that his invention is published. Thus a patent can serve to other inventors as a measure and basis of further developments in the respective technical field.

Patents play an important part in managerial decisions. Patent literature searches help to avoid expensive and unnecessary double developments. They also help to prevent the risk of infringing foreign protective rights. The number of patent applications filed and/or the number of patents which are maintained by a company speak for a company’s innovation potential. They are an important factor for the assessment of companies.

A patent is obtained if a legally prescribed procedure is passed through with a positive result. The protective right and the right to forbid become effective only with the grant of a patent.

A granted patent is retrospectively effective as of the filing date and for a maximum period of 20 years. Inventions concerning pharmaceuticals and pesticides are an exception. After the expiration of the maximum patent duration they can be protected for additional five years under certain circumstances by supplementary protection certificates.

The rights from a granted German patent can be claimed only within Germany. To extend the protection of a patent also to foreign countries, the filing of European or international patent applications is recommended, though the filing of national applications in foreign countries is also possible.

This website uses cookies, By visiting this website you agree to this. Read more: Data Protection | Imprint

17.05.2017

Patent

Ein Patent schützt neue technische Erfindungen. Es verleiht seinem Inhaber das räumlich und zeitlich befristete Privileg, allein über eine Erfindung zu verfügen. Eine nicht autorisierte gewerbliche Nutzung des Patents kann er verbieten. Ein Patent ermöglicht es, wirtschaftlichen Nutzen aus einer Erfindung zu ziehen.

Im Gegenzug erwachsen dem Patentinhaber auch gesetzliche Verpflichtungen. Mit der Patentanmeldung stimmt er der Veröffentlichung seiner Erfindung zu. Ein Patent kann damit anderen Erfindern als Maßstab und Basis für Weiterentwicklungen auf dem betreffenden technischen Gebiet dienen.

Patente spielen eine wichtige Rolle bei unternehmerischen Entscheidungen. Recherchen in der Patentliteratur helfen, teure und unnötige Doppelentwicklungen zu vermeiden. Auch der Gefahr, fremde Schutzrechte zu verletzen, kann so vorgebeugt werden. Die Anzahl angemeldeter und/oder gehaltener Patente einer Firma spricht für deren Innovationspotenzial. Patente zeigen Strategien und Entwicklungstendenzen. Sie sind ein wichtiger Faktor für die Bewertung von Unternehmen.

Ein Patent entsteht, wenn ein gesetzlich vorgeschriebenes Verfahren mit positivem Ergebnis durchlaufen wurde. Erst mit der Patenterteilung setzt ein Schutz- und Verbietungsrecht ein.

Ein erteiltes Patent wirkt ab dem Anmeldetag rückwirkend maximal 20 Jahre lang. Erfindungen im Zusammenhang mit Arzneimitteln und Pflanzenschutzmitteln bilden eine Ausnahme. Nach Ablauf der maximalen Patentlaufzeit können sie unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen mit ergänzenden Schutzzertifikaten maximal weitere fünf Jahre geschützt werden.

Die Rechte aus einem erteilten deutschen Patent können nur innerhalb Deutschlands geltend gemacht werden. Zur Ausdehnung eines Patentschutzes auf das Ausland empfiehlt sich die Hinterlegung von europäischen oder internationalen Patentanmeldungen, es besteht jedoch auch die Möglichkeit der Einreichung nationaler Anmeldungen im Ausland.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr Infos: Datenschutz | Impressum