18.05.2017

Design

Appropriate protection for a product design is offered by the design registration. The design registration protects the design of three-dimensional objects such as pieces of furniture, cars etc. An application for a design registration can be filed also for two-dimensional patterns such as drapery, hangings, logos, graphic designs etc.

A registered design grants the exclusive right of use of a design. It interdicts any unauthorized use of the design by third parties. This covers both offering products in which the design is used and manufacturing, selling or importing and exporting such products.

Design protection is obtained with the registration of the design in the design register of the German Patent and Trademark Office. A design protection can be maintained up to 25 years after the filing date by the payment of prolongation fees.

Designs which are registered at the German Patent and Trademark Office enjoy protection exclusively for the region of Germany. If worldwide use of a design is intended, a European community design application or an international design (IR) application should be filed.

This website uses cookies, By visiting this website you agree to this. Read more: Data Protection | Imprint

17.05.2017

Design

Das passende Schutzrecht für das äußere Erscheinungsbild eines Produkts ist das Design. Das Design schützt die äußere Ausgestaltung dreidimensionaler Gegenstände, zum Beispiel von Möbeln, Autos etc. Auch für zweidimensionale Muster wie Stoffe, Tapeten, Logos, Grafiken etc. kann ein Design angemeldet werden.

Ein eingetragenes Design verleiht das alleinige Recht, dieses zu benutzen. Es verbietet Dritten, das Design ohne Zustimmung zu benutzen. Dies umfasst sowohl das Anbieten von Produkten, bei denen das Design verwendet wird, als auch deren Herstellung, Veräußerung oder Ein- und Ausfuhr.

Designschutz entsteht mit der Eintragung des Designs in das Designregister des Deutschen Patent- und Markenamtes. Er kann durch Gebührenzahlungen bis zu 25 Jahre nach dem Anmeldetag aufrechterhalten werden.

Beim Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt eingetragene Designs gelten ausschließlich für das Gebiet der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Soll ein Design europa- oder weltweit vermarktet werden, empfiehlt sich die Hinterlegung eines EU-weiten Gemeinschaftsgeschmacksmusters (EU-Design) oder eines internationalen IR-Designs.

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Durch die Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr Infos: Datenschutz | Impressum